NOTE: The voting period has ended.

2019 ISJAC Hall of Fame Ballot

All registered members of ISJAC are eligible to vote on nominees for the 2019 Hall of Fame Awards.

Criteria:  The ISJAC Hall of Fame seeks to honor and immortalize those jazz composers and/or arrangers (both living & deceased) whose body of work has advanced the art form and profoundly impacted the profession by virtue of their:

  • artistic excellence 
  • singular and unique voice 
  • historic significance and 
  • influence on future generations of composers

Sorry, to view these resources, you need to be a member.

Need to register? Click here!

Nominees (Living) – Please select two

Toshiko Akiyoshi
Carla Bley
Bill Frisell
Benny Golson
Slide Hampton
Herbie Hancock
Jimmy Heath
Bill Holman
Quincy Jones
Pat Metheny
Sammy Nestico
Lalo Schifrin
Wayne Shorter

Nominees (Posthumous) – Please select three

Bob Brookmeyer
Benny Carter
Ornette Coleman
John Coltrane
Tadd Dameron
Gil Evans
Neal Hefti
Fletcher Henderson
Thad Jones
John Lewis
Charles Mingus
Thelonious Monk
Gerry Mulligan
Oliver Nelson
George Russell
Horace Silver
Billy Strayhorn
Kenny Wheeler
Gerald Wilson
Joe Zawinul