The ISJAC Hall of Fame seeks to honor and immortalize those jazz composers and/or arrangers whose body of work has advanced the art form and profoundly impacted the profession by virtue of their:

  • Artistic excellence
  • Singular and unique voice
  • Historic significance, and
  • Influence on future generations of composers

The ISJAC Jazz Composers Symposium has provided the opportunity to award each group of composers/arrangers into the Hall of Fame. The inaugural class of Chick Corea, Duke Ellington, and Mary Lou Williams were inducted in 2017 at the University of South Florida. Carla Bley, Thad Jones, Thelonious Monk, and Wayne Shorter were inducted in 2019 at the University of Northern Colorado. The next class of awardees will be inducted in 2021 at the University of Texas at Austin.

ISJAC members are eligible to vote for awardees. More detailed information on the induction process can be found here.


bley photo

Carla Bley

Induction: 2019 Carla Bley’s official website: I grew up learning piano, and I first got introduced to Carla’s music through the Real Book. My older sister brought one from College and I started leafing through it, and I found [Carla’s composition] “Ida Lupino.” I just got into it because it was all written out,…

Continue reading Carla Bley