SONIC Awards

One of the highlights of each Jazz Composers Symposium is the SONIC awards concert. SONIC (Symposium Outstanding New Instrumental Composition/Arrangement) winners are selected through the ISJAC Call for Scores and represent the most exemplary new works as selected by an esteemed committee of jazz arrangers and composers. Winning selections are performed at the SONIC awards concert by the awardees ensemble, the Symposium’s resident jazz orchestra or a subset of the resident orchestra.

The 2017 Sonic Award Winners are:

  • Large Ensemble – Remy Le BoeufStrata
  • Small Ensemble – Ashley SummersTrue North
  • Arrangement – Scott RoutenbergLittle Rootie Tootie
  • Student Large Ensemble – Cassio ViannaBaião Moderno
  • Student Small Ensemble – Matt SazimaUnwound

The 2019 ISJAC Jazz Composers Call for Scores will open in April of 2018.